My sister’s wedding day – Part I

I decided yesterday that I really like weddings. Not that I ever want one of my own. But I don’t see myself turning down an invitation any time soon.

What’s not to like? There’s amazing food (and a lot of it), open bar (when the bride and groom care about their guests) and if you’re as lucky and blessed as I am, incomparable family and friends to share it all with.

There’s also the fact that you are witnessing two people committing their lives to each other. It’s inspiring that they are willing to be all mushy and profess their love for each other in front of 200+ guests, as was the case for my sister and her (now) husband yesterday.

As brother of the bride, I was mostly photographed and hardly took any photos myself. Here’s one I got on my phone at our house an hour before the ceremony.

 For the last year and a half or so (that’s how long my sister was engaged to her fiancée), the fact that my sister was getting married was a conversation starter. Did they pick a date? Where are they having it? Are you in the bridal party?

Yes, I was in the bridal party, and yes, I am just as shocked as you are that I was neither the best man nor the maid of honor. I was a crummy ol’ groomsman. Nevertheless, I am honored that they let me be a part of their special day. Otherwise I would have had to force my way in. (The couple also asked me to speak at the reception. I will post that speech soon.)

Now that she is married, what will be my go-to excuse for events I don’t want to be a part of? “Sorry, bridal party event” is no longer available.

Regardless, somewhere between my first shrimp cocktail and my umpteenth drink, I decided that weddings were my favorite kind of party.

One thought on “My sister’s wedding day – Part I

Leave a reply

