She had me at “No, No, No”

I love Beyoncé.

To those close to me, this is no secret. Anyone who has had a look through my iPod knows. I love Beyoncé. Anyone who has peaked at my gym playlist knows that the songs on there are 60 per cent B, 40 per cent all other artists. I love Beyoncé.

B is no stranger to my iTunes’ ‘Top 25 Most Played’ either.

I just love her.

Some might wonder why I would advertise something like that so publicly. Am I not trying to be taken seriously on here? It’s not that I was hiding my affinity. I was just never asked. It’s nothing to be ashamed of. There’s just no one like her.

My infatuation with Beyoncé started in the mid-90s during her Destiny’s Child days. One of the most successful female groups of all time, the quartet (and subsequently the trio) was a favorite among the Hanna children. My sister is four years older than me and my only sibling. As someone I looked up to, I often forced myself to like things she did so we would have more in common.

With Destiny’s Child, I didn’t really have to pretend, but I definitely compensated by owning Eminem’s The Marshall Mathers LP and Jay-Z’s Dynasty and Blueprint albums and making sure my schoolmates knew about THOSE, too. In all honesty, I got on the Eminem bandwagon. I never really enjoyed his anxiety-inducing delivery, but it impressed a bunch of 12- and 13-year-olds, which only solidifies the age group as utterly useless.

Here are the original members of Destiny’s Child, Beyoncé, Kelly, LaToya and LaTivia, in all their nineties’ glory in the video for “No, No, No Part 2”

.

I should just put into perspective and point out the difficulty I’m having writing this post. I just sent a text to my friend Hillary, who is all-too-used to me over-sharing, saying “I can’t write about her and do her justice. I can’t put into words what she means to me.”

Another dear friend of mine, Kim, would probably be quick to point out that I almost (almost!) killed her and three of our friends one night when I was driving them back home from a rare night out and B’Day (Beyoncé’s 2006 studio release) was blasting from the car stereo. Kim then blamed Beyoncé for our brush with death and suggested I never listen to Beyoncé in the car. Ever. I would like to point out that we all made it home unharmed. I think B kept me alert, and I was able to swerve to safety at the last possible nanosecond.

Truthfully the music isn’t even my main source of obsession. Don’t get me wrong, I am a big fan of the music and own every album, but the allure is in Beyoncé’s grandeur as an artist and performer. The music is a bonus. To borrow a phrase, she “got a big ego.” Her confidence is almost intimidating, and might even verge on vanity and conceitedness that are just hot and intoxicating.

Forget for a moment that she is one of the most successful female artists of all time. Forget that she has been active since the mid-90s, and has hence been able to hone her craft and get better with time. Forget that she is a commodity and one of the most marketable celebrities in the world. Beyoncé is a machine that cannot be stopped or slowed down.

Beyoncé made history this weekend by being the first female artist to headline the Glastonbury Music Festival’s main stage. Glastonbury is Europe’s biggest music festival. According to reviews by The Guardian and other UK outlets, she did not disappoint. Having seen her live in concert twice (yes, shut up, I told you I was obsessed), I am not at all surprised. She sang all the hits, including a Destiny’s Child medley and tracks off her fourth studio album which will be released June 28. For the Glastonbury setlist, go to http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/beyonce/2011/glastonbury-festival-pilton-england-1bd37934.html

The aptly-named 4 has already spawned the catchy “Run The World (Girls)” and the Irreplaceable-like “Best Thing I Never Had.” The album also features Andre 3000 on “Party.” I’ve been waiting for this new album since November 2008, when I Am Sasha Fierce was released with the mega-hit “Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It).” Seriously, if you didn’t sing along to the contagious “Ifyoulikeditthenyoushouldaputaringonit” chorus, you are lying.

Regardless of where tomorrow takes me, I know that I will find myself at a music store to pick up 4, and will have a surely-glowing review of the record for you all tomorrow night.

Beyoncé will also be performing in Central Park on Friday as part of Good Morning America’s Summer Concert Series. B knows how to sell herself. Undoubtedly, 4 will be the best-selling album of the week. I was seriously considering driving down to NYC for a day to catch her live, but I’ll probably just watch GMA on Friday morning. And I’m sure I will still be in awe and it’ll only be slightly less amazing for me.

3 thoughts on “She had me at “No, No, No”

  1. James June 28, 2011 / 20:49

    To embed YouTube vids, make sure to put or it won’t embed.

    Like

    • Chris Hanna June 28, 2011 / 20:53

      Thanks! Embedding was disabled on this vid, but clicking the video to go to the YouTube page looks nicer. Thanks!
      C

      Like

Leave a reply

