25 Hours of Christmas Songs

Since 2008, I’ve lovingly obnoxiously spammed my friends’ Facebook news feeds with what I called the 25 Days of Christmas Songs (25DoCS). Every day, I would post some lyrics to a Christmas song that I’d probably been listening to since May. It was my way of spreading Christmas cheer. The feedback was mostly positive, though my guess is that those annoyed by it didn’t speak up. I was mostly doing it for me: that other people enjoyed them was a total bonus. 

This year, I’ve decided to do things a little differently. After a bunch of people (three) asked me where 25DoCS went this year and that it’s what they look forward to most at the holidays (I’m paraphrasing), I’m back with 25 Hours of Christmas Songs (#25HoCS).

Instead of bothering everyone for 25 whole days, 25 songs will be posted over 25 hours. Starting Dec. 23 at 11:25 p.m. for 25 straight hours, one new song will be posted here (and Twitter and Facebook) until Dec. 25 at 12:25 a.m.

Buddy the Elf says “the best way to spread Christmas cheer is singing loud for all to hear.”

Subscribe here and follow me on Twitter (@Chris_Hanna) to make sure you catch all 25 songs. What is your favourite Christmas song?

Follow the jump for all the entries.

/Dec. 23 23:25/

And we’re off…

“Have a holly jolly Christmas
It’s the best time of the year
I don’t know if there’ll be snow
But have a cup of cheer”

/Dec. 24 0:25/

“Rockin’ around the Christmas tree
Let the Christmas spirit ring
Later we’ll have some pumpkin pie
And we’ll do some carolling.”

/Dec. 24 1:25/

“How’d ya like to stay up late like the islanders do?
Wait for Santa to sail in with your presents in a canoe.”

/Dec. 24 2:25/

“City sidewalks, busy sidewalks, dressed in holiday style
In the air there’s a feeling of Christmas
Children laughing, people passing, meeting smile after smile
And on every street corner you’ll hear…”

/Dec. 24 3:25/

“Well, way up north where the air gets cold
There’s a tale about Christmas that you’ve all been told
And a real famous cat all dressed up in red
And he spends the whole year workin’ out on his sled”

/Dec. 24 4:25/

“They’re singing ‘Deck the Halls’
But it’s not like Christmas at all
‘Cause I remember when you were here
And all the fun we had last year”

/Dec. 24 5:25/

“Presents and cards are here
My world is filled with cheer and you
And as I look around
Your eyes outshine the town (they do)”

/Dec. 24 6:25/

“He sees you when you’re sleeping
He knows when you’re awake
He knows if you’ve been bad or good
So be good for goodness’ sake”

/Dec. 24 7:25/

Somehow I think if Joe saw Catherine kissing Santa Claus, it wouldn’t have ended well for her… or Santa.

“Then I saw Mommy tickle Santa Claus
Underneath his beard so snowy white
Oh what a laugh it would have been
If Daddy’d only seen Mommy kissing Santa Claus last night”

/Dec. 24 8:25/

“Come and trim my Christmas tree
With some decorations bought at Tiffany’s
I really do believe in you
Let’s see if you believe in me”

Michael Bublé’s version of “Santa Baby” on his best-selling album Christmas swaps some of lyrics to make them a little more manly, but best to leave this one to the ladies. Calling Santa “buddy” is borderline creepy. And calling him “papi” crosses that line.

/Dec. 24 9:25/

“The party’s on, the feeling’s here
That only comes this time of year”

/Dec. 24 10:25/

Yes, kids. This song existed before Mean Girls.

“What a bright time, it’s the right time
To rock the night away
Jingle bell time is a swell time
To go gliding in a one-horse sleigh”

/Dec. 24 11:25/

One of my favourite shows on TV is Community. In three seasons, they’ve had three amazing Christmas episodes. I’m cheating a little, but here are three clips (that also happen to be musical) from each of the three seasons’ Christmas episodes.

‘Christmas Troy’

“Music and cookies and liquor and trees
That’s what Christmas is for
Video games for two straight weeks
That’s what Christmas is for”

“What’s a Christmas Eve? Is that Santa’s lady?
Are snowmen cold or hot?
Won’t you be my daddy
I’m a silly Christmas baby
Tell me what to deck ‘cuz … hehe … I forgot”

/Dec. 24 12:25/

“Il me tarde que le jour se leve
Pour voir si tu m’as apporté
Tous les beaux joujoux que je vois en reve
Et que je t’ai commandés.”

/Dec. 24 13:25/

“I don’t need to hang my stocking
There upon the fireplace
Santa Claus won’t make me happy
With a toy on Christmas day”

/Dec. 24 14:25/

Bundle up, it’s chilly out there. Plan accordingly if you’re spending the evening somewhere and don’t want to get stuck there because you don’t have adequate gloves, hats, boots and coats.

“I simply must go (baby, it’s cold outside)
The answer is no (baby it’s cold out there)
This welcome has been (so lucky that you dropped in)
So nice and warm (look out that window at that storm)”

/Dec. 24 15:25/

“No more lives torn apart
That wars would never start
And time would heal all hearts”

/Dec. 24 16:25/

“Decorations of red on a green Christmas tree
Won’t be the same dear, if you’re not here with me”

“I gaze out the window
This cold winter’s night
At all of the twinkling lights
Alone in the darkness
Remembering when you were mine
Everybody’s smiling
The whole world is rejoicing
And everyone’s embracing
Except for you and I”

“Merry Christmas, I wrapped it up and sent it
With a note saying ‘I love you,’ I meant it”

/Dec. 24 17:25/

“Not gonna get you a diamond ring
That sort of gift don’t mean anything
Not gonna get you a fancy car
Girl ya gotta know you’re my shining star
Not gonna get you a house in the hills
A girl like you needs something real”

/Dec. 24 18:25/

“Long lay the world in sin and error pining
Til He appeared and the soul felt it’s worth
A thrill of hope the weary world rejoyces
For yonder breaks a new and glorious morn”

/Dec. 24 19:25/

“Come they told me
A new born King to see
Our finest gifts we bring
To lay before the King”

/Dec. 24 20:25/

“God rest ye merry gentlemen
Let nothing ye dismay
Remember Christ our Savior
Was born on Christmas day
To save us all from Satan’s power
When we were gone astray”

/Dec. 24 21:25/

“What child is this who lay to rest
On Mary’s lap is sleeping
Whom angels greet with anthems sweet
While shepherds watch are keeping”

Bonus: Oprah being Oprah @ 3:16

/Dec. 24 22:25/

“He was herald by the angels
Born in a lowly manger
The virgin Mary was His mother
And Joseph was his earthly father
Three wise men came from afar
They were guided by a shining star
To see King Jesus where He lay
In a manger filled with hay”

/Dec. 24 23:25/

“Please have snow
And mistletoe
And presents by the tree
Christmas Eve will find me
Where the love light gleams
I’ll be home for Christmas
If only in my dreams”

/Dec. 25 00:25/

“A turkey and some mistletoe
Help to make the season bright
Tiny tots with their eyes all aglow
Will find it hard to sleep tonight”

Thank you for joining me for the last 25 hours. I hope you’ve enjoyed this as much as I have.

Although it’s been said many times, many ways… Merry Christmas to you.

3 thoughts on “25 Hours of Christmas Songs

  1. Sam December 23, 2011 / 14:02

    That song from Home Alone! Carol of the Bells…even if I don’t celebrate the holiday, I use to looooove that song as a kid!

    Like

  2. Sam December 23, 2011 / 21:35

    None other! That one and…

    Like

Leave a reply

