Celebrating one year on WordPress

It was a year ago this weekend that I unleashed a quad-fecta of blog posts that inundated the Internet with even more useless crap. On my inaugural day of blogging, I wrote about starting to blog, reviewed gushed over Tina Fey’s book Bossypants, revealed my obsession with pistachios and previewed Glenn O’Brien’s How To Be A Man.

This was a promising start, and I thought I could definitely keep up with the same pace. But even I, an egomaniac, get sick of writing and reading about myself. The posts became less regular and there were weeks (sometimes months) when chrishanna88.wordpress.com wasn’t updated (or, frankly, even thought of) at all.

Even with school almost out of the way (I’m attending my last class on Wednesday and will have to hand in some papers by the end of month), I know better than to promise to update the blog more regularly. I’ll do it when I think I have something poignant to say, which shows a huge sign of maturity from when I started blogging just a year ago. I am proud of the things I’ve posted on here, but there is so much that I can’t imagine anyone who isn’t even remotely caring about. But I won’t delete them, whatever.

If you are a family member or friend who hasn’t seen me or heard from me in the last year, here is my attempt at summarizing what I’ve been up to:

– I was completing my final year at Concordia University. I will have a highly-sought degree journalism and political science very soon.

– I was the production manager at The Concordian, one of Concordia’s independent student newspapers. I laid out the paper and go to write a bunch of stuff, and I got to do some really neat things with the design.

– I gave back my Lancer last July and got a Sentra in August.

– I co-hosted a Sunday morning talk show on CJLO with Tony Stabile (his movie-reviewing site is thestabilo.com) from July to about the end of the year.

– I wrote some stories for publications that aren’t student-run (“Hailing and coughing,” in the Feb. 23 issue of The Mirror and “Gilmore touts economy in Canada,” in the March 17 edition of The Irish Independent—shout out to Kamila Hinkson for making that happen for me.) I interned at Concordia University Magazine last summer, and will be interning at The Gazette this summer.

My sister got married!

– I wish there were more personal accomplishments I could brag about, but the free time I had was spent watching Breaking Bad and catching up on Friday Night Lights, Boardwalk Empire and White Collar, and dozens of other shows that I can’t recall right now.

– I’ve been telling people my favourite movie of last year was The Descendants, but actually it was a tie between Muppets and The Rise of the Planet of the Apes (CAESAR!).

– Also a side note that I am *not* pictured in the photograph above. That would mean I was around five other people at once this year, which I can’t really remember happening. If it did, there certainly wasn’t champagne involved. I picked the photo because they look like they’re celebrating. Or maybe they’re at a funeral. Eh.

If you have been following my blog for a year, thank you very much. You can subscribe to it so you get email notifications every time I post something new. You can also follow me on Twitter: @Chris_Hanna. I also *just* started a Tumblr where I’ll be posting videos and photos of the things I’m watching, reading, eating, wearing (?) with short reviews.

I leave you now with some highlights from my first year of blogging.

– My Fruit Ninja trilogy: Fruit Ninja Crack, in which I write about this new game that I discovered called Fruit Ninja, the premise of which you are a ninja who slices fruit as melons, apples, grapes and dragonfruits are hurled across your iPhone/iPad screen; I beat myself!, in which I gloat about my new high score on Fruit Ninja; and Fruit Ninja thousandaire, in which I announce my retirement from the game after passing the 1,000-point mark in the game.

– Verging on diary entries: The speech I delivered at my sister’s wedding; saying goodbye to my car; gloating about my ability to “knee drive,” and how texting and driving is only dangerous if you’re bad at it; and my most recent post about how hard it is in this e-world to be named Chris Hanna.

As of 1:32 p.m. on May 20, 2012, chrishanna88.wordpress.com has been viewed 5,364 times. Including this one, there have been 43 total posts. Surprisingly, only two (1 and 2) were about Beyoncé.

Find me on Twitter and Tumblr.

Leave a reply

