Jerry Seinfeld’s Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee: Tina Fey

Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee Jerry Seinfeld Tina Fey

Jerry Seinfeld’s Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee is a fun little web series in its third season in which, well, comedians drive to get coffee. Seinfeld’s had Larry David, Alec Baldwin, Chris Rock, Louis C.K., Ricky Gervais, Sarah Silverman and others on, but his latest guest was SNL alumna and 30 Rock creator Tina Fey.

You can watch the episode below. Here are my favourite Tina Fey quotes from the show:

Seinfeld tells Fey he likes that she, like him, likes to eat things she isn’t supposed to: “I win an Emmy and then ‘What’s my food treat gonna be?’ The Emmy was not a treat. The only reward for anything is food.”

She says she doesn’t miss 30 Rock. “I have an office that I go to, and I make a coffee, work for like 40 minutes of thinking about something, and then: ‘Should we walk out to lunch?’ And then you go out to lunch and then you’re like, ‘Oh, you know what, the kids will be home from school soon, let’s wrap it up.’ ”

She tried doing stand up in Chicago three times: “I remember compared to improv, it was so much scarier, and so much more thrilling, ’cause if you did get a laugh, it was all yours. But then when you were flop sweaty, that was also all you.”

On Twitter, which Tina Fey is not on: “I always say you should have to have a licence to be on Twitter. When 30 Rock ended they were like, ‘What do you wanna do?’ I want to be in charge of the Twitter licences. (Seinfeld asks her how one would get a licence) You would give me 10 samples of what you thought you might want to talk about, and I would talk to you about whether that’s something we all needed to know. Why does everyone need to have an audience for every moment of their life?

“There was a guy in college that I sorta dated and I remember going to lunch with him and he was like: ‘You, uh, you really eat a lot.’ And I took it as a compliment.”

Seinfeld on female comedians: “It’s a struggle to balance their feminine projections with their comedic goals.” To which Tina Fey added: “If I do a talk show, I gotta have my stories together and I gotta try to look OK. (shrugs) Some people work in coal mines.”

There’s also a really great anecdote about a movie rewrite she helped Chris Rock with …

Leave a reply

