Oscars 2014: My ballot

Oscars

Not to gloat, but I did pretty well on my Oscar ballot last year.

18/24 correct predictions, which was a stark improvement from 2012 when I only predicted 13 of 24 winners correctly (and 15 of 24 in 2011).

I’m taking a few risks with my predictions this year, namely that American Hustlewhich I loved, will be shut out. There are fewer categories this year that are total locks, but the Globes and all the Guild awards suggest it’s a three-way race for best picture, with Gravity, American Hustle and 12 Years a Slave battling out; on the acting front, Cate Blanchett and Jared Leto are the only sure winners tonight, with the supporting actress category especially contentious. Will it be newcomer Lupita Nyong’o for her harrowing work in 12 Years a Slave or American sweetheart/everyone’s BFF Jennifer Lawrence for her feisty turn in American Hustle?

THE VERDICT: I tied my 2013 score of 18. I thought Captain Phillips would win the adapted screenplay award, Her the production design Oscar, The Lone Ranger for makeup and hairstyling, The Act of Killing for documentary. Get a Horse! lost the animated short award to Mr. Hublot – the biggest surprise of the night, in my opinion – and the live-action short went to Denmark’s Helium, not France’s Just Before Losing Everything. Check out my updated ballot below with all the winners highlighted.

Oscars 2014 Ballot 18:24

Check out my reviews of the nominated films, many of which show up in my top 10 favourite movies of 2013:

(in alphabetical order)

12 Years a Slave

American Hustle

August: Osage County

Dallas Buyers Club

Her

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Inside Llewyn Davis

Omar

Saving Mr. Banks

The Wind Rises

The Wolf of Wall Street

The Oscars are live tonight at 8 p.m. on ABC and CTV, with red-carpet coverage start as early as 1:30 p.m. ET on E! (Seriously…) Ellen DeGeneres hosts for the second time.

(Bonus drinking game: If you want to pass out before the show even starts, take a shot every time someone mentions the weather. If you want to stay sober all night, take a shot every time someone mentions this.)

One thought on “Oscars 2014: My ballot

Leave a reply

