Birthday post: Time capsule 2014

Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 1.08.34 AM

 

Here’s the fourth consecutive instalment of these birthday time capsule things I’ve been doing. You can read 2011, 2012 and 2013 by clicking on each year (come on, you know how hyperlinks work). I’m starting to convince myself this isn’t merely a vanity project, but a nice way to keep track of changes in the world. When I die, which, given my eating habits and sedentary lifestyle, is likely to happen by the end of the decade, the first and last entries I hope will at least be fun for future generations to read.

I can’t really complain about where I am right now, though. I’m truly and unironically #blessed.

Birthday breakfast: Froot Loops.

Birthday second breakfast: Breakfast poutine at one of my favourite diners in Montreal. (They emailed me a gift certificate for my birthday. Can we legally marry restaurants yet or are we still bigots?)

Price of gas: $1.354/litre.

In my Amazon cart: Nothing! But I have this massive 800-page book on the history of Saturday Night Live in my Indigo/Chapters cart.

Current job(s): I plead the fifth on this question in 2012, and didn’t bother including it in 2013, but I’m quite happy and very busy – oh, so, so busy – professionally. My only complaint would be that it’s harder for me to go to the movies during the day now.

No. 1 album on the Billboard 200: Blake Shelton’s latest, Bringing Back the Sunshine.

No. 1 song on the Billboard 100: The catchy “All About That Bass” by Meghan Trainor. It’s an all-women Top 5, btw. How often has that happened? Taylor Swift is No. 2 with “Shake It Off,” Iggy Azalea and Rita Ora are No. 3 with “Black Widow,” “Bang Bang” puts Jessie J, Ariana Grande and Nick Minaj at No. 4, and her Minajesty is also No. 5 with the great “Anaconda.”

No. 1 movie at the North American B.O.: For the second week in a row, David Fincher’s Gone Girl, a bonkers thriller and great adaptation of the Gillian Flynn novel.

Currently reading: Cheryl Strayed’s Wild, which I am seeing at the Festival du Nouveau Cinéma next weekend. (The novels I read are generally ones about to be adapted into a motion picture.)

I consider myself an expert at: Avoiding eye contact.

I wish I were more/less: More willing to speak up when I feel wronged/Less OK with being wronged.

Goal for Year 26: For 25, I wanted to use my passport at least once. I did! So I’m repeating that goal, but this time adding the caveat that it needs to be to go to a place I’ve never been.

I spent the day: Killing time while my car was being serviced at the worst place in the universe (I got a flat yesterday and the closest auto shop to my place is a Canadian Tire store); had two breakfasts; caught up on some PVR’ed shows I missed last week (what the what is going on with How to Get Away with Murder – too many characters!); watched the Japanese film House at home; will be seeing Nightcrawler tonight at the Festival du Nouveau Cinéma; dinner before or after the movie at TBD location; writing this/thanking everyone on social media for the well wishes; debating which two shows I will PVR tonight, and which I will catch on streaming some time this week (I went with The Good Wife, because duh, and The Walking Dead Season 5 première).

Twitter followers: 558.

Leave a reply

